Springsteen finishes first at WL Raceway

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
With a thunderstorm in the forecast April 12, Colby Springsteen proved lightning-fast on the track Saturday night at West Liberty Raceway.

Springsteen caught Nick Marolf in traffic on the 10th circuit, then ran away with the win in the Deery Brothers Summer Series main event, leading the last 30 laps and taking the checkers nearly half a straightaway in front of Jeff Aikey. 

The IMCA Late Model tour feature was slowed by caution just once, on lap 12. Aikey and early leader Marolf swapped second following the restart; Aikey got the spot for good with ten laps left but couldn’t muster a challenge to Springsteen, who earned $3,000 for the victory. 

Marolf, “B” qualifier Justin Kay and Jason Rauen completed the top five. Opening night winner Andy Eckrich ran 11th while defending champion Brian Harris exited on the first lap. 

Springsteen drew the pole but it was Marolf who set the fast pace from outside row one. Springsteen was quick to take advantage when Marolf got slowed by a lapped car and shot to a lead he’d never relinquish. 

Kay was the hard charger, passing 12 cars to finish fourth. He also won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing. 

The win was Springsteen’s Deery career second. His first came at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s in 2011.

Up next for the Deery Series are dates Friday, April 18 at Farley Speedway and Saturday, April 19 at Jackson County Speedway in Maquoketa. 

Also in action on Saturday night were the Weikert Iron & Metal Sportmods and the Kile Motorsports Stock Cars. Austin Moyer scored the 15 lap feature win in the  Sportmod division taking the win over Cory Vanzante. David Brandies started the 2014 season right where he left off in 2013 with a feature win in the 20 lap IMCA Stock car feature. Brandies crossed under the checkers ahead of Todd Retzler.
More People
©2017 West Liberty Index | Web Development by Brian McMillin, LLC